.22LR AR-15 based blem cheapass pistol

Talk about almost anything you want
Provience
Actually Wheels
Has Liked: 2 times

.22LR AR-15 based blem cheapass pistol

Post by Provience »

I have been collecting parts for this for about 6 months and wanting to do it for a couple years, nearly complete so i figured i'd post it up and add some chit-chat content. not sure what the rules are in Canada, but here in Washington every semi-auto is now an assault rifle including .22LR! So screw the man, this is Not an assault rifle.

it's an assault pistol :lmao:

Specs:
https://www.righttobear.com/ blem 80% lower I hogged out to fit
RTB dedicated 22LR bolt/carrier and dedicated 9" barrel
RTB 25 round magazines
I don't remember where i got the lower spring part, but it was any of the ~$30 ones
free 3 piece 'mil-spec' trigger from a buddy
Aero Precision Slick Side upper, no dust cover
plastic buffer tube that was free with purchase of something else
Discount bin 7" handguard, no holes.

today i scored this smooth handguard for $35 because it was blue and i'm pretty stoked about it. being smooth, it gives me the option to make it not a muffler to go with my not an assault rifle
IMG_3083.JPG
barrel fits with the alignment pin into the upper, of note is that the 22lr barrel doesn't have a hole for a gas tube and use a 1:16 twist and has a proper lockup as opposed to the conversion stuff to use .223 barrels
IMG_3084.JPG
installed, hand tight, it will get good enough tightened down later, probably.
IMG_3085.JPG
self contained blowback bolt group, nice Stainless Steel unit
IMG_3086.JPG
other side, there it is all the way back
IMG_3087.JPG
Up is difficult, down is dangerous

Provience
Actually Wheels

Re: .22LR AR-15 based blem cheapass pistol

Post by Provience »

Bolt Carrier Group in the upper, you can see how the barrel comes back in to provide proper lockup
IMG_3088.JPG